County Clerk's Office

Licenses

DOG LICENSES 
All dogs over 5 months are required to be licensed at a fee of $3.00 for neutered male and spayed female dogs and $8.00 for unneutered male/unspayed female dogs. Dog licenses can be obtained from your LOCAL TREASURER. 

The owner must present evidence that all dogs over 5 months of age are currently immunized against rabies before a license will be issued. 

Any person who keeps more than one dog may apply for a multiple dog license. The license fee is $35.00 for up to 12 or fewer dogs and an additional $3.00 for each dog in excess of 12 The multiple dog licenses are issued in the County Treasurer’s office. 

Dogs exempt from licensing fees are those trained for blind or deaf persons. They are entitled to receive a license at no cost. 

PENALTIES 
A late fee of $5.00 shall be assessed the owner of each dog 5 months of age or over who fails to obtain a dog license by April 1st of each year, or within 30 days of acquiring ownership on or before the dog reached licensable age. 

Any owner who fails to have a dog vaccinated against rabies as required by statute may be required to forfeit not less than $50.00 nor more than $100 

 

DMV SERVICES 
The County Clerk’s office provides title, registration and/or registration renewal services for walk-in customers. Plates or stickers are given to the customer upon completing the transaction. Titles are printed and mailed from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Madison. 

Our office can provide these title transfer transactions: 

  • Issue and transfer car (AUT) and small truck (LTK) license plates 

  • Transfer the following plate types:

    • Celebrate children (KID)

    • Civil Air Patrol (CVG)

    • Collector (CLS)

    • Disabled parking (DIS)

    • Disabled Veteran parking (VET)

    • Donate Life Wisconsin (LIF)

    • Ducks Unlimited (DUK) 

    • Emergency medical technician (CVG/EMT) 

    • Endangered resources (END) 

    • Farm (FRM) 

    • Firefighter (FFO/FRF) 

    • Gold Star (GST) 

    • Green Bay Packers (PAK) 

    • Harley-Davidson/Share the road (HAR) 

    • Lions Club (LCF) 

    • Marquette University (MRQ) 

    • Military group (MLG) 

    • Milwaukee Brewers (MBO/MBN) 

    • Motorcycle (CYC) 

    • Multi-group (MGP), including freemason and Lao veteran 

    • Rescue squad member (CVG) 

    • Sesquicentennial (SES) 

    • University of Wisconsin - Madison campus (HEM) 

    • University of Wisconsin higher education group (HEG) 

    • Wisconsin National Guard (WNG) 

    • Wisconsin Salutes Veterans (SPT) 

  • Renewal transactions for all of the above plate types, plus mopeds (MPD).

Our office charges a service fee of $10 for a renewal transaction and $19.50 for a title transaction. We accept cash, checks or money orders.

MARRIAGE LICENSES 
Christina M. Jensen 
Clark County Clerk 
517 Court Street 
Neillsville, WI 54456 
(715) 743-5148 

WHERE TO APPLY: 
County Clerk’s Office, 
Courthouse – Room 301 
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
Monday through Friday 
Closed Saturdays and legal holidays 
Please arrive prior to 4:00 p.m. to 
allow time for processing. 

Marriageable Age: Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry. 
If a person is between the ages of 16 and 18 years, the license will be issued only 
with the written consent of the parents, guardian or custodian. Consent forms 
are available. 

Persons who may not marry: 

  • Blood relatives nearer of kin than second cousins, except when the female 
    is 55 years of age or older, or where either party submits an affidavit signed by a physician stating that either party is permanently sterile. 

  • A person under the age of 16.

  • Persons who have not been divorced at least 6 months. 

  • Persons who are not competent. 


Residence: Application must be made in the county where one party has resided for at least the last 30 days. They may be married in any county in Wisconsin. If both 
parties are residents of other states, application must be made in the county where the ceremony is to be held. 

Waiting Period: A 5-day waiting period is required by law, but may be waived for a good cause by the clerk for an additional fee of $10.00. 

Requirements: 

  • Must show proof of residency.

  • All applicants must present a certified copy of a birth certificate, original with raised seal. 

  • Copies of judgment of divorce, legal annulment papers, or death certificate from previous marriage must be presented. 

  • Must know name of village, city, or township where presently residing. 

  • Must know name of officiate and place of ceremony. 

  • Must know parent’s middle names, mother’s maiden name, and how to spell them. 


Both persons must sign before the County Clerk or Deputy when applying for their license. 

Expiration: The license is valid for 30 days after the date of issuance. The marriage must be performed within that period. 

Cost: $75.00 

Ceremony: Any judge, ordained clergyman, court commissioner, municipal judge or licentiate of a denomination body. 

Clark County Contacts: 
Bonnie Wachsmuth, Court Commissioner (715) 229-2284
Judy Kalepp, Abbotsford Municipal Judge (715) 223-3832
Nicole Egland, Neillsville (715) 937-3708
Terri Wiersma, Dorchester (715) 613-8467
Mary Ellen Hughes, Owen (715) 229-2368

Eau Claire County Court Commissioner
Eau Claire Courthouse, free of Charge
Nathan Novak (715) 839-6029

Witnesses: Must be 18 years of age to sign the marriage certificate. 

Clark County Courthouse
517 Court Street
Room 301
Neillsville, WI  54456 

Ph: (715) 743-5148 
Fx: (715 743-5154